REVIEW: Lovehoney Splash Rabbit Beginner’s Rabbit Vibrator

This was my first rabbit vibrator. When I received this toy, it was a revelation: my first dual-stimulation toy! I really understood what the big hype was about the famous “Rabbit”. Whilst over time I have come to realise how this truly is a beginner’s item, I still very much appreciate its work in helping me to truly understand what a blended orgasm is and now I find blended orgasms the easiest type to achieve!

splash rabbit 1The dimensions of this toy is that it has a total length of 7.5 inches, but an insertable length of 5 inches. The circumference varies, as the shaft has a bit of an hourglass shape. I found it surprisingly large and girthy when I first used it, especially with the curved, bulbous parts of the shaft (my partner described it as “massive” when he opened it for me). Nowadays, I consider it to be of an easily accessible size, but my first impressions when I was just starting out in toys only further proves that this is definitely a beginner’s item. Inside me, the shaft does feel quite defined, probably due to the head, which has quite a bulbous shape, something I have learned I very much enjoy in toys in general. It doesn’t announce its presence to my G-Spot loudly, but it subtly helps to bring along my orgasm faster.

I can guess the dealbreaker for a lot of people about this item will be the fact it is PVC (apart from the base, which is plastic) and PVC is, of course, a porous material. If you do not know about porous materials, please read my disclaimer here. This particular PVC feels quite rubbery
in texture and is very soft and smooth.

splash rabbit 5
Random Smiley Lady

Carved into the surface of this toy if you look closely are little details, such as a smiley face on the rabbit ears section and a random smiling lady with a necklace on the head of the shaft. These details in particular need attention when cleaning to make sure no bits of bodily fluid linger around. This toy is apparently fully waterproof and submersible, however I have not tested this purpose, neither for pleasure nor for cleaning.
splash rabbit 3

Despite the fact that there are motors in the rabbit section and the shaft, this toy is VERY bendy and flexible. Pros to this include that I can easily position it to my body shape, which is good, because not all rabbit vibrators fit all vulvas, just by nature – the rabbit’s actual ears come up a little high for my clit, but then again, I think I have quite a small vulva, so go figure. The cons, however, are that you have to hold this position the entire time in use, it will not hold itself in that position, and I also do believe this ability to flex it so easily has affected the motors inside (more on that later).

To get the vibrations in this toy working, you have to unscrew the base and insert 2x AA batteries (not included). It’s super easy to do, and then you just screw the base back on and twist to turn on the “multi-speeds”. Although the actual process of this is easy, sometimes my rabbit can be a little temperamental :/. When I first bought it, it worked easily and fired up to life rather strongly. Nowadays, I sometimes have to insert the batteries a couple of times, and screw it closed super tightly, and bend it all around a bit to get it working. I do believe that over time the ease at which I can bend this toy has made the electronic system inside a bit dodgy and out-of-place.

splash rabbit 4
Insert Batteries Here

Top Tip: Use good quality batteries for maximum power and remember to take them out after each use! I sometimes forget, but their power (and thus the vibrations’ power) honestly does just drain away in-between playtimes if you leave them in – learn from my many battery mistakes!

As I mentioned before, there are two motors powering this rabbit: one in the rabbit “ears” and one in the shaft. These motors both have the same vibrations as far as I can tell, and operate in the same way at the same time i.e. twisting the base to up the power increases it in both the rabbit ears and shaft exactly the same.

splash rabbit 2These vibrations when I first got the toy were of a mid-speed and moderately buzzy. I can orgasm from these types of vibrations and I thought they were great! They gave enough power to my clitoris without making me go numb and having those vibrations inside me genuinely did help in a big way to making me reach orgasm quickly. I could even use just the rabbit ears alone on my clit and it felt awesome. Perhaps the way I had to use the toy contributed to how I felt about enjoying the vibrations – I have to hold the rabbit ears onto my clit, because otherwise they fall too far up my vulva, so I think this extra pressure probably gives me more all-around, deeper stimulation over my whole vulva as well as my clit. Also, props to Lovehoney: the multi-speed here actually meant multi-speed!

That last paragraph is in past tense because now after owning this for around a year and a half, the story has changed slightly. The vibrations have become weak (in my opinion due to this bloody flexibility/motor issue I’ve already wittered on about >:(!). I can still orgasm, but it is probably more to do with the pressure I use on my clit, rather than the actual vibrations. The multi-speed is also no longer multi-speed. One thing that has remained the same all the way through my ownership of this toy, however, is that it is super quiet and I feel totally comfortable using it under my duvet with others in the house.

Realistically, after owning for about a year and a half, I’m probably going to get rid of this soon, because this appears to be reaching the end of its lifespan. I do think this is a really great first rabbit vibrator, as shown by my love for it in the beginning, but the dodginess in regards to the flexibility and motor will mean that the love affair will have to end at some point… but then you can treat yourself to an upgrade with something a little more expensive hehe! 😉

Overall Rating: 8/10 (For Beginners)

Leave a Reply

