REVIEW: Ice Gem Realistic 16 Inch Double Ended Dildo

I received this item in exchange for an honest review from the lovely people at Lovehoney and had never tried a double-ended dildo before – heck, I still haven’t got around to trying out another one! I acquired this particular toy by responding to a thread on their Community Forum where they were looking for testers, so I put my name down for this product without having a great deal of information actually about the product, but I was game for a surprise…

ice gem double 1

On my first impressions, I liked the look of this dildo – in all honesty, super-realistic or flesh-toned dildos kinda freak me out, so a colourless toy can’t really go wrong in my eyes. The detail work is just the right amount to look and feel realistic, with ridges and veins pronounced throughout the shaft and the head on both ends is defined, yet slightly tapered. An immediate gripe I had, though, was that I found it hard to hold and store, so if it came with some sort of storage pouch or box, instead of the huge moulded plastic packaging it actually comes in, that would be a massive bonus.

At the time when I reviewed this toy over a year ago, I was less educated and less bothered about the materials of my toys, but now I have built up a collection, I feel I am unlikely to ever buy or use a toy of questionable material. You see, this 16 inch dildo is made of PVC, and whilst it states it does not contain phthalates or latex, PVC is still a porous and potentially toxic material for a sex toy. I have never had a problem with these types of materials, however the risk is there and I would fully advise you to do some research and read my Porous Toys Disclaimer if you are not already aware of these hazards.

ice gem double 3My feelings before I first used this were a combination of intimidation and excitement. I have never had proper double penetration with something dildo-sized in both holes, only something that big vaginally with a small butt plug in, but it is something I wanted to try. My intentions for this toy was to use it during solo play as I tend to keep toys as masturbation tools more-so than use with partners, which probably didn’t work in my favour with this toy, but let me elaborate on that later…

My testing process had a few steps to make sure I was giving this dildo a fair chance with my body. Firstly, I made sure I was comfortable vaginally. I prepped myself and the dildo with some lube and it glided into me straight away. The shaft veins are more like waves than prominent, individual lines, so it felt generally smooth inside me – it felt awesome to be honest. The girth is pretty much perfect for me (5 inch circumference), it makes me feel full not over-stuffed, and this is firm enough to hit my G-spot well. I orgasmed twice like this before moving onto the next stage.

Next, some anal prep. I removed it vaginally and wanted to feel comfortable anally withice gem double 2 this toy. With some lube on both the dildo and myself, to my surprise this took no more than 5 minutes to have it inserted, pain-free, feeling good (this coming from someone who very rarely has anything this thick in circumference up there). The slight taper on the head I think helped with this smooth insertion. I had forgotten how much of a turn-on anal play could be, it felt seriously satisfying and filling and had me craving to go for my ultimate goal of both holes at once (I do think this could be a bit tame in girth for more advanced anal players though).

With each hole prepped individually, and this dildo feeling amazing in both, it was time to go for the big DP. The two ends of this dildo are identical, so I advise you find some way of differentiating between them so you don’t get any vaginal/anal contamination at any stage, or just use condoms over the top and keep changing them anytime you have any doubt of where that end has been.

The resting position of this dildo when not in use is slightly curved, with the ends curling round to face each other, so I thought it would be relatively easy to curve them around and get this dildo inside me. I was mistaken.

ice gem double 4No matter how many positions I tried, bent over, knelt up, on my back, squatting, legs up, legs down, I could not get both ends inside me at once. I couldn’t curve it enough to get them in each hole one after each other, or put in simultaneously. If I could get it curved enough, my arms ached with the strain and it would ping out of my hand or one of my holes (quite an amusing image in retrospect, but frustrating as hell in the moment!). If I had got it in one hole and tried to insert into the other, the first end would start sliding out and then I’d attempt to juggle them both in, to no avail. I jumbled around like this for about half an hour and eventually gave up, through frustration and my arms actually aching with this effort. After all this futile effort, I just left it in anally and used a different toy vaginally to get SOME form of orgasmic reward for that unsuccessful work.

Since I haven’t ever managed to successfully use this dildo for the purpose I intended, I did some research into double-ended dildos in general. Turns out there different types of dildos that work best for different purposes: more flexible ones are for solo play, less flexible for couples play. This particular dildo I believe falls into the couples play category, which I will definitely not be testing out.

Overall, the dildo itself I don’t mind apart from the material, it feels pretty great inside me, but it doesn’t properly fulfil my intended purpose and I’ve ended up just using it like any other dildo, of which I would pick many other ones from my collection instead of this one. Awful for solo double penetration, but I suspect quite successful for shared pleasure between two people.

Overall Rating: 5/10

Leave a Reply

